

MRS Board of Trustees Minutes May 9, 2022 Zoom Virtual Meeting

Present	Riffat Ahmed, MD	Leah Davis, MD	
	Shadi Azar, MBBS	Ralph Lieto, MS, FACR	
	Gordon Beute, MD, FACR	Tayson Lin	
	James Cavanagh, JD	Danny Ma, MD	
	Paul Chuba, MD, PhD, FACR	Duane Mezwa, MD, FACR	
	N. Reed Dunnick, MD, FACR	Andreea Moore, MD	
	Roger Gonda, Jr., MD, FACR	Rocky Saenz, DO	
	Brent Griffin, MD	Shannon Sage	
	Joseph Junewick, MD, FACR	Rojanandham Samudrala, MD, FACR	
	John Kalabat, MD	Katherine Scharer, MD, FACR	
	Michael Kasotakis, MD	Gaurang Shah, MD, FACR	
	David Kastan, MD	Kamran Shah, MD	
	Tracy King, MS	Eric Spickler, MD, FACR	
	Katharine Klein, MD, FACR	Mark Weiss, MD, FACR	
	Kathleen Barry, MD, FACR	Perry Pernicano, MD, FACR	
Absent	Karen Grajewski, MD	Walter Sahijdak, MD	
	Randy Hicks, MD, MBA	Evita Singh, MD	
	Stephen Kilanowski, MD	Michael Votruba, MD	
	Michael Mahacek, MD	Andrew Woodrow, MD	
	Andrew Moriarity, MD	Harvey Yee, MD	
	Mark Pennington, MD	Alkis Zingas, MD, FACR	

<u>Call to Order:</u> The meeting was called to order at 5:04 p.m. by Ralph Lieto, President, Michigan Radiological Society

Minutes: Minutes from the April 7, 2022, meeting were approved.
MOTION: To approve the minutes of the April 7, 2022, meeting. Seconded. Motion carried.

## 2. Officer Reports:

a. **President's Report** – Mr. Lieto opened the meeting with an overview of the Michigan State Medical Society House of Delegate resolution that had recently passed. Mr. Lieto continued with a discussion regarding attendance at the recent ACR annual meeting in

Washington, DC, noting that it is imperative for councilors that attend to be there to vote and if they are not able to stay for the entire event, they must notify the President and/or Executive Director so someone else can be credentialed in their place otherwise the MRS vote will not count.

## 3. Annual Committee Reports

b. The following committees submitted written annual reports that were reviewed prior to the meeting and handled as a single consent item:

i.	Awards	R. Lieto
ii.	Bylaws	
iii.	Centennial Planning	R. Lieto
iv.		
٧.	Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion	K. Grajewski
vi.	Economics	P. Chuba
vii.	Ethics	K. Scharer
viii.	Fellowship	
ix.	Finance & Budget	
х.	Legislative Affairs	J. Junewick
xi.	Medical Students	R. Saenz
xii.	Membership	M. Weiss
xiii.	Nominating	S. Kilanowski
xiv.	Program	M. Weiss
XV.	Radiation Oncology	W. Sahijdak
xvi.	Radiological Safety	J. Kalabat
xvii.	Resident Affairs	B. Griffith
xviii.	Senior and Retired	M. Sandler
xix.	Strategic Planning	R. Hicks
XX.	Young and Early Career Physicians	C. Therasse

MOTION: To accept the annual committee reports as submitted. Seconded. Motion Carried.

## 6. New Business

a. Mr. Lieto announced that Anthony Alcantara resigned from the board and his councilor position would need to be filled. After further discussion, the board decided to temporarily elevate Paul Chuba to Councilor, but leave the alternate position open and allow the Nominating Committeet to take action in the future.

MOTION: To accept moving Paul Chuba to Couniclor to fill the vacancy for one year. Seconded. Motion Carried.

## 7. Old Business

**8.** Adjourn: The meeting was adjourned by President, Ralph Lieto, MS, FACR, at 5:36 p.m.

These minutes were approved by Ralph Lieto, MS, FACR, President, Michigan Radiological Society.