MRS Radiation Oncology Committee 2022-2023 Report

The MRS Radiation Oncology Committee did not convene this past year.

The committee's co-chairs, Dr. Paul Chuba and Dr. Walter M. Sahijdak, were active in monitoring the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services certificate of need (CON) commission and meetings by the CON commission regarding megavoltage radiation treatment (MRT) units. State CON issues MRT CON workgroup: There is currently a workgroup with a very broad charge and the next meeting is 5-18-2023. This will be chaired by Salim Siddiqui MD, a radiation oncologist from Henry Ford Radiation Oncology.

The co-chairs plan to have teleconference meetings with the committee in the coming year to discuss the American College of Radiology Council of Affiliated Regional Radiation Oncology Societies (CARROS) participation, overall radiation oncology physician membership in the Michigan Radiological Society, and issues affecting the Radiation Oncology community in Michigan such as the certificate of need program.

Walter M Sahijdak, MD, MBA, FACR Committee Chair